Posted on

cbd oil laws in georgia

As long as you purchase products with a THC content of 0.3%, you should have no trouble with the law.

In Georgia, possession of more than an ounce of marijuana is a felony and can be punished with up to 10 years in prison.

The Farm Bill opened the door to legal industrial hemp CBD oil production.

Is Marijuana Legal in Georgia?

For more than 30 years, Georgia had a medical marijuana program written into law but had no source of legal marijuana.

Although the state and federal laws often don’t agree when it comes to marijuana, the federal government usually doesn’t interfere.

As the market grows, more companies are trying to get their piece of the pie. Unfortunately, this means that some people are taking advantage of the uninformed customer and selling sketchy products that contain almost no CBD at all.

However, there is hope if you wish you purchase CBD oil in Georgia. Even without a medical marijuana license.

Officials signed The Farming Act HB 213 in 2019. This act legalized commercial CBD products that met the minimum requirements set by the state. The THC level is the most important limitation stated in this act. As per this act, for a CBD product to be sold or used, it should possess less than 0.3% THC. Anything more than 0.3% is tantamount to breaking the law in Georgia. In fact, any resident of Georgia – including adults, children, adolescents, and seniors – can use CBD for medicinal purposes as long as the product is derived from industrial hemp and contains less than 0.3% THC.

No CBD supplier has the right to put an unspecified claim on the product to sell it. All labeling requirements are supervised by the FDA. No medical claim can be written on the label of the product. Any product that doesn’t adhere to these regulations will be banned. That’s why you need to buy your CBD products from a trusted supplier in Georgia.

Pain relief is one of the most common reasons for people in Georgia to use CBD. One in every five people is suffering from some kind of a pain in the United States. Surviving chronic pain with painkillers is quite tough because of the many side effects associated with prolonged usage. In fact, chronic pain affects you physically, socially, and impacts your work life as well.

Is CBD Legal In Georgia?

Possessing CBD with more than 0.3% THC in Georgia will land you in prison. If you possess more than one ounce of such CBD, you will be charged with a felony. It involves a $5,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison. Possessing over 10 pounds qualifies as trafficking and involves 5 years in prison and a mandatory $100,000 fine.

The Farming Act – HB 213 – legalizes the cultivation, processing, and transportation of industrial hemp for commercial purposes. A lot of new markets opened up for businesses in Georgia due to this act. A farmer should obtain a permit from the state to grow industrial hemp. The Georgia Department of Agriculture issues these licenses. Only after getting the license can a farmer cultivate and process hemp.

Is CBD legal in Georgia? You have come to the right place to find out. There are hundreds of stores – both online and offline – selling CBD products in Georgia. People are using CBD for help with their anxiety, stress, insomnia, diabetes, and a host of other health conditions. But some are confused as to its actual legal status. In fact, CBD products are legal in the state as long as they contain less than 0.3% THC.

You can also buy CBD products online from highly trusted suppliers. The most important thing is to do your research properly and find a reliable online supplier before you buy CBD products. All reputable brands will provide you with essential product details so that you are on the safe side. They will display third-party test results on the website or product to show you the chemical composition of the product.

The penalty for possession of an illegal form of CBD product or cannabis scales depends on the amount in possession and whether there is an intention to distribute. Possession of more than 1 ounce is a felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.

Possession with intent to distribute is punishable by the same penalty tiers as the sale of illicit CBD or cannabis.

Full-spectrum CBD oil means the extract contains cannabis-derived terpenes and trace amounts of cannabinoids such as THC. Broad-spectrum also includes other cannabis compounds but has had THC removed during the processing phase. CBD isolate is a pure crystalline powder containing only CBD.

Georgia CBD possession limits

Until May 2019, only CBD products with zero percent THC were legal in Georgia. The passing of HB 213, also known as the Georgia Hemp Farming Act, permitted the in-state production, processing, and sale of hemp and hemp products, and redefined CBD to match the federal definition.

Written consent must be provided for the GDA to inspect premises where hemp is grown. Licensees must provide samples of hemp and hemp-derived CBD products through internal personnel or via independent lab testing contractors. Lab tests must prove that the sample contains no more than 0.3% THC. Crops with more than 0.3% THC must be destroyed.

Most raw cannabis strains on the market today contain small amounts of CBD, especially compared with THC. But since the cannabinoid has gained considerable attention for its wide range of purported therapeutic benefits, more high-CBD strains have recently been cultivated.

Georgia consumers can purchase hemp-derived CBD products from CBD-specific stores and health shops. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps