Posted on

can you buy cbd or hemp gummies online in nc

This means that North Carolina medical marijuana patients need to purchase their medicine in another state that allows out-of-state medical marijuana cards.

Anything between half an ounce and 1.5 ounces can lead to 1 to 45 days in jail with a fine of $1000.

A list of states that allow out-of-state medical marijuana cards can be found here. The closest state to North Carolina with reciprocity is Pennsylvania — a short drive of 500 miles.

Charlotte

NOTE: Even if you make your purchase in person, ensure you do your research. The Journal of Regulatory Science has found that over-the-counter CBD oils have inconsistent levels of CBD and can sometimes contain solvents and pesticides.

4. Order full-spectrum CBD oil. When a CBD oil is full-spectrum, it means that it was produced using the whole plant. This is an excellent sign because using the whole plant captures additional chemical compounds, including terpenes and flavonoids, which help your body process CBD. Full-spectrum oil will, therefore, act faster and more efficiently.

State laws often contradict federal laws when it comes to marijuana. Unfortunately, North Carolina has some of the harshest marijuana laws in the United States.

Growing marijuana in North Carolina is a huge risk. Growing any amount of marijuana under 10 pounds will be treated as a felony and could lead to 3 to 8 months in jail.

North Carolina CBD is available in every major form, but the primary distinction comes from the THC content of the CBD. CBD with a dry weight THC content exceeding the legal limit for the industrial hemp pilot program can only be obtained under the state’s incredibly restrictive medical CBD law. This law makes this kind of CBD only available for those patients who have intractable epilepsy, an incredibly rare and specific condition.

North Carolina is one of many states attempting to make sense of the massive spike in public interest for CBD and hemp products. Additionally, states like North Carolina are trying their best to fit new CBD legislation into the existing legal framework for cannabis and marijuana products of varying types. For users of CBD and other hemp-derived products, it can be difficult to understand how their favorite products fit into the evolving legal landscape for cannabis and hemp products of all kinds.

Additionally, the state of North Carolina instituted an industrial hemp pilot program with the passage of revisions to statutory laws from 106-568.50 to 106-568.54. This program made it legal for consumers and producers of CBD products to continue to expand the CBD market all over the state.

Types of CBD in North Carolina

For North Carolina, the laws would be hard-pressed to be more complicated and confusing for the average consumer. The state has a medical cannabis law, but the program is incredibly limited to only a single type of disease. Aside from this specific use-case, North Carolina does not permit CBD to be used, although it is still sold by many retailers all over the state.

There are currently three laws on the book regarding CBD and hemp-derived products. First, the state instituted a pilot study for epilepsy alternative treatment via House Bill 1220 back in 2014. The program was particularly successful, and House Bill 766 in 2015 removed the designation of “pilot study” from the legislation. This allowed users of higher-THC CBD through this program to continue to use it in their alternative treatments.

Age requirements in North Carolina are relatively straight-forward, despite the confusing nature of the laws which created them. For the industrial hemp pilot law under which most CBD products are presently sold, consumers generally need to be eighteen years or older in order to purchase the products. This includes age requirements in most convenience stores and gas stations.

There is no substantive age requirement built into the legal infrastructure for high-THC. However, doctors are required to gain parental consent or the written agreement of a legal guardian before prescribing any cannabis-derived product to a minor.

Yes. Hemp-derived CBD with less than 0.3% THC became legal at the federal level in 2018 and it is legal in North Carolina. In addition, hemp extract that contains less than 0.9% THC and at least 5% CBD by weight is legal if the person purchasing it is registered with the state as a patient with intractable epilepsy or a patient’s caregiver.

It is legal to purchase hemp-derived CBD online, as long as it contains less than 0.3% THC. The United States Postal Service (USPS) and private delivery services are permitted to mail hemp-derived CBD items to North Carolina addresses. There are a growing number of stores and retail outlets that carry hemp-derived CBD products in North Carolina, in addition to online retailers.

What is CBD?

North Carolina’s hemp pilot program was set to expire in 2020 under a US congressional mandate but Congress extended the expiration date to September 20, 2021.

Separately from the industrial hemp pilot program, in 2014, the state passed House Bill 220, or the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act. It allowed patients with epilepsy who register with the state’s program to possess and use hemp extract with less than 0.9% THC and at least 5% CBD by weight.

The FDA released guidance on the regulation of cannabis and hemp-derived CBD products in March of 2020. The agency is seeking high-quality, scientific data to help it understand and regulate CBD.